July 20th New Moon in Cancer, 2020

This new moon is opposite Saturn, which brings tests and restrictions. Patience and hard work is needed as you struggle against the odds. 


The July new moon in Cancer has a challenging aspect, which is very powerful, and that is due to Saturn being opposite. The new moon aligns with a major fixed star, but the orb is over two degrees, so Saturn is the primary influence here. 


New Moon Opposite Saturn

The Sun opposite Saturn can bring restrictions and hardship. It can be a real struggle to overcome these limiting conditions because as well as putting up barriers to progress, Saturn makes it harder to express yourself. You may deal with low self-esteem, grief, or disgrace. 


Your need for companionship may be at odds with other people's need for distance. Perhaps you want a break from all the responsibility and burdens that have been imposed on you. Distance between you and others can lead to a sense of isolation or rejection. 


Difficult relations with older people, authority figures, and your father is possible now. Other people, in general, may be demanding, impatient, and critical. 


These tests can make you frustrated and miserable, or they can make you determined to succeed. With critical thinking and a serious, thoughtful attitude, you can gain valuable knowledge and learn new skills. Patience, hard work, and persistence can lead to recognition, respect, and achievement. If you still feel frustrated, try setting some personal goals where you do not need the assistance of others. 



New Moon Stars

The closest fixed star by longitude to the new moon is Alpha Canis Minoris, Procyon. It is a massive star, the eighth-brightest star in the sky. This gives Procyon the largest possible orb used in fixed star astrology, from the new moon, it does have some influence. 


The fixed star Procyon has Mercury and Mars's nature, unreliable, great talker, and argumentative. 

It brings violence, malice, and makes natives careless and violent. Procyon has a Mars-Mercury nature; therefore, it makes people jealous, but it also confers will-power and ability to put thoughts and plans into action. There's a tendency to have impudence and hot temper under this star. 


July's New Moon Summary

The July new moon is opposite Saturn, so it is severe and restrictive. It suggests challenges and tests that can make you feel pessimistic, held back or frustrated. 


The best way to deal with such a repressive influence is to work hard with a lot of patience and determination. The fixed star Procyon conjunct the new moon has just the opposite effect. It makes you restless, argumentative, and hasty. Mercury square Mars amplifies this impulsive and aggressive nature. 

Luckily, Procyon makes you driven, with the will-power and ability to put thoughts and plans into action. While challenging Saturn aspects encourage you to think profoundly and struggle hard in the face of adversity. 


This new moon is all about focusing on the basics. Tackle one thing at a time and start with the most critical tasks first. Be patient and avoid unnecessary risks. 


The July new moon lasts for four weeks up until the August new moon. The best time for starting projects is during the moon's waxing phase (between July 20th-August 3rd).

New Moon July 2020 Times and Dates

  • Los Angeles, July 20 at 10:32 am

  • New York, July 20 at 1:32 pm

  • London, July 20 at 6:32 pm

  • Delhi, July 20 at 11:02 pm

  • Sydney, July 21 at 3:32 am

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All