June 21st New Moon In Cancer - The Annual Solar Eclipse

The New Moon in Cancer comes on Sunday, June 21st, 2020. The primary influence on this solar eclipse comes from the planet Saturn, causing an imbalance between freedom and responsibility. 


The New Moon solar eclipse joins a star that brings enthusiasm and initiative but also a tendency towards recklessness and impulsiveness. This is an eclipse for the responsible and patient. 


Solar Eclipse Meaning

A solar eclipse is the same as a regular new moon where the Moon passes between Earth and the Sun. However, a solar eclipse happens to be far more powerful because the Moon darkens the Sun. The solar eclipse in June is an annual solar eclipse, so not all of the Sun will be darkened. In this particular eclipse, the Moon's apparent diameter is smaller than the Sun's, leaving what looks like a ring of light around the eclipsed Sun. 


The strongest and most important aspect of astrology is the Sun conjunct the Moon. It means all the possibilities are on the table and you can rightly put yourself at the forefront of new plans for the future. This is the ideal time to make a fresh start, so write your new goals on paper and get journaling—question old habits and toxic behaviour by searching for new ways to improve and progress within yourself. 



June 2020, Solar Eclipse

The new moon solar eclipse in Cancer makes one significant aspect. Although a solar eclipse quincunx Saturn may be termed a minor aspect, it is an essential influence in this case because the aspect orb is only 0°19. 


Balancing personal freedoms against responsibility and restrictions is a major theme for this eclipse. A fixed star at 00°11′ Cancer also affects this solar eclipse.

The Solar Eclipse Aspects

Solar Eclipse quincunx Saturn creates an imbalance between what you have to do and what you want to do. Certain obligations and restrictions may hamper your self - expression. 


The mix of freedom versus restriction is likely to change during this eclipse phase. So it may be essential to be adaptable and open-minded as you adjust to fewer or more significant responsibilities. Patience, Hard Work, and self-discipline are needed. 

You may have to take time off work due to a sick family member or illness. As a result, your career could potentially suffer. On the other hand, extra responsibilities may be placed on you at work so that may mean missing out on important things in your personal life.


Feeling torn between equally important responsibilities can lead to increasing tension. 

Trying to find a compromise may be difficult; even minor adjustments could cause an imbalance. Avoid wasting valuable time by procrastinating. 

Solar Eclipse Stars

There are three major fixed stars within the orb of the solar eclipse. 


  • 28°50 – α Ursae Minoris, Polaris

  • 29°01 – α Orionis, Betelgeuse

  • 00°11 – β Aurigae, Mekalinan



Mekalinan, on the left shoulder of the Charioteer, gives amazing initiative and enthusiasm. But second thoughts are needed due to impulsive and reckless nature. 


It could cause disgrace or excess pleasure-seeking. Only when good in aspect is this fixed star is bringing positive influence. Poorly positioned, and this star is proven to be most unhelpful. 


New Moon Solar Eclipse Summary

The major theme of this new moon solar eclipse is balancing your freedom and self-expression, which changing levels of responsibilities and restrictions.

The fixed stars bring enthusiasm but a tendency towards impulsive and reckless behaviour. This stressed the need implied by Saturn, for a cautious and patient approach to new personal freedoms or restrictions, especially with the coronavirus pandemic.  


New Moon June 2020 Times and Dates

  • Los Angeles – June 20th at 11:41 pm

  • New York – June 21st at 2:41 am

  • London – June 21st at 7:41 am

  • Delhi – June 21st at 12:11 pm

  • Sydney – June 21st at 4:41 pm

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All